Yesterday I Cussed My Wife

I have to say that it was in fact not my best hour of husbandry. If you know me, then you know cussing is not something I esteem very highly. Even more so talking at my wife that way is not acceptable to me. It was the antithesis of who I am and what I strive to be. My tone was antichrist in nature.

My wife is wonderful. Truly the greatest blessing I have received this side of eternity. I love her with every fiber of my being but yesterday I did not act like it at all. Thankfully she is with me because she can handle all my stupidity. And can very boldly get me back on track when I start to act like an idiot.

I do not like talking about this. Telling people about my failure. I mean I am supposed to be a Christian and I am supposed to have all my crap together right? Wrong!

I do not have my crap together!

I’m finding everyday that I am in fact in need of more grace than I did when I first began this journey with God almost a decade ago. I need him more now than when I first believed. That is hard to understand. I would say I look more like Christ now than I ever have and I think that is why I need more grace. It is because I can not sustain myself. He is Author and Finisher of this faith and in Him I find solace. Christ in us is our hope for glory! We do not get to take the pen out of Christ’s hand! When we do we end up cussing our wives over something as idiotic as a treadmill and a bowl of ice cream!

Being transparent like this is hard because for the majority of my journey with God I was scared to be transparent about my failures. I hid my flaws in some strange self-preservative defense mechanism that honestly came across as arrogance. I do not want to be arrogant. I do not want to cuss my wife. I do not want to feel the need to pretend like I have all my crap together.

What I did was dumb and unacceptable. Men we are called to love our wives as Christ loves the Church! Let us do better at that! More so let us rely on the power(Holy Spirit) that lives in us that is supplying everything we need for life and Godliness! Let God keep the pen in his hand and watch the amazing story that is your life unfold!

If you don’t have your crap together then refocus your eyes where they need to be! There is grace for you! The infinite strength of God to overcome all of life’s obstacles is made perfect in your weakness!

You can do this! Christ in you is
enough!

2Peter 1v3
His divine power has granted to us all things that pertain to life and godliness, through the knowledge of him who called us to his own glory and excellence,

To whom, through Whom, and for whom all things exist!

– A guy who does not have his crap together

(More on the TreadMill and Ice-Cream later)

2 thoughts on “Yesterday I Cussed My Wife

    • rcag9109 says:

      Thank you so much! I spent so much time pretending to be perfect. It almost destroyed my life and walk with Christ. The American church, at least in my experience, has not always been the safest place to be transparent about our failures. I want to see that changed! Thank you again for your comment and time outbid your day to read the post!
      Shalom!

Leave a Reply

