We Are Not In Egypt Anymore

A few years ago, when I was working at the wonderful world of Walmart, a man in his late sixties, that knew nothing about me, spoke a profound truth to me. It was out of nowhere, and his voice echoed with a corrective tone. Honestly he all but yelled it at me. Which is typically something I do not do very well with. Especially from a man who did not know anything about me. Strangely something was different about this situation. Very different. Instead of an ill-tempered response, that would have normally flown out of my my mouth, I just stood there jaw on the floor. Staring into the green eyes of a tiny old man who had paused long enough to see if I would responded. I did not respond. He walked away as if nothing was ever said and I just stood there frozen trying to process this one phrase that hit me like a ton of bricks.

“We are not in Egypt anymore Son!

It wrecked me.
I new immediately as the words rolled off his lips that they did not belong to this man. They were the words of Holy Spirit. They were words reminding me of something so vast and beautiful. Something I frequently let fade from my focus with the silly little bad days of retail life.

It was the same message given to the Israelites time and time again. It was echoed in the words of Jesus(their author) when He proclaimed “The Kingdom of God has come Near you!”. Confirmed again and again by the apostles! Paul puts it this way in his letter to the Corinthian Church,

2 Corinthians 5v17
Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come.

We are Redeemed. We have passed from death to life and from slavery to the glorious freedom of life animated by The Spirit of God!

Maybe I am the only one who seems to forget this on a consistent basis? Maybe not? The day this happened was a day, like most at Walmart, that I wanted to put my fist through a wall, forget all about Jesus, and let words fly like daggers off my tongue. Thankfully this man was obedient. Allowing God to bring me back to the simplest of gospel truths! The truth that we are alive! And free! And dead to all the bull crap this life seems to conjure up!

Paul seemed to always encourage the church to hold firm to that which they first believed! Return to the good news! Hold fast to truth that you are in Christ and He is in you! Stop living like you are still in Egypt! Those days are long since gone and buried!

Let us live life in the glorious grace of His resurrection instead of digging up old bones!

Through whom, to whom, and for whom all things exist!

-Ryan

Leave a Reply

