Scripture or a Ouija Board?

IMG_0374.JPG

Let me begin by saying scripture is such a valuable resource. It is very needed and an huge privilege to be able to use and enjoy. I am pro “Bible”. The issue has never been the scriptures but rather how we approach them. There are volumes to be said about the state of “Bibliolatry” in the western church that I do not honesty have time to cover here. Simply put the Trinity is “Father, Son, and Holy Spirit” not “Father, Son, and Holy Bible”.

I have heard more than one time(at least a hundred) that the Bible is the primary way in which God communicates with believers. I could not disagree more. That theology has stripped the Holy Spirit of His position and given it to a book. I know all kinds of red flags are probably going off in your head right now and before you jump to conclusions please understand I hold scripture in very high regard but I can not elevate it to the same position of my God. Jesus is THE WORD OF GOD. The Scriptures are words about The Word God.

It is from this understanding that I can approach and enjoy scriptures for what they are. For many years I limited the voice of God to the pages in that book. This is not to say I believe in extra-canonical writings but rather I reduced the beautiful voice and leading of the Holy Spirit to those pages. I used the scriptures as more of a Ouija Board to try and divine what God needed me to do in particular situations in my life. I would often close my eyes flip the Bible open and read in hopes of hearing what I needed to hear. When I was depressed an landed on a scripture that was dealing with adultery I would just repeat the process. Over and over. On days where luck was not on my side I reasoned that I just wasn’t doing what I needed to do to hear. I walked away discouraged as still answerless.

It was not until I began to understand that The Spirit in me was my direct line with God that I was able to begin to hear the answers my bones yearned for. I finally began to understand and enjoy the scriptures in all of their beauty!

1 Corinthians 2v9-10
But, as it is written, “What no eye has seen, nor ear heard, nor the heart of man imagined, what God has prepared for those who love him”— these things God has revealed to us through the Spirit. For the Spirit searches everything, even the depths of God.

I love this verse! Paul references the Old Testament scriptures which plainly state that eye has not seen but then goes on to say now that we are found In Christ the depths of God have been revealed to us by The Holy Spirit! He is the voice of revelation and wisdom! He intercedes for us! Prays for us! Leads us! Comforts us and teaches us the way of The Word of God, Jesus Christ.
He is the inward witness and the primary way our Father communicates with us! With out Him we would be no different than the Pharisees who aimlessly searched the scriptures with intense ferocity only to have Jesus tell them that they never contained the keys to eternal life.

The bible contains oceans of practical wisdom that we can apply to our lives but the Holy Spirit is our vein to God. It is through Him that we can approach scriptures and it be what they were intended to be, an aid. I agree with C.S. Lewis in that I believe the Spirit is always speaking. He may use scripture, He may use the wind, He may use whatever He good an well pleases! That part is not for us to worry about. All we need to do is listen! How glorious is that? We no longer have to obtain wisdom by pious study but rather have all wisdom an knowledge dwelling in our very being! Jesus, not the bible, is the answer to your situation!

Through whom, to whom, and for whom all things exist!
-Ryan

Leave a Reply

