Failure Is An Option

Failure is an option. And good thing too because I failed this week. I failed hard.

We all fail. Sometimes more than we like to admit but it happens on the daily. Some failures are small and completely insignificant while others hold a little more ability to ruin our day. Unfortunately failure is an integral part of life. If by some chance you do not fail please by all means let me know your secret! Hook a brother up because despite failure being a part of everyday life, I have yet to become a fan.

This week my Kickstarter project Lessons From Dead Guys was very unsuccessful. To say I am disappointed would be a drastic understatement. It sucks. This is something that is such a huge part of my heart and I feel like the one thing that kept it from being successful was not communicating to the people around me how truly important it was to me. I am not sure where I am going to go from here with the project but it is for sure not dead! Truthfully I do not even know how to deal with failure yet. I just know it is a part of the growing process and if you stay after what your heart desires long enough then you will eventually get it right. Failure is something I hate to the point that I struggle with making steps simply out of fear of not succeeding. It is by far my worst vice and most personally loathed character trait. I could go on and on about the Kickstarter campaign being a failure for a million different reason but it would be so unprofitable. We can not sit and dwell on every little detail of what kept us from being successful. By all means look at what you did wrong. Step back and examine the areas you need to strengthen  and improve on but never linger too long. It is so easy to become trapped in that place of self critique that you never get back up and get back at it.

Try. Fail. Learn. Try Again

Repeat the process as many times as it takes! If it is something your heart truly burns for then it will not matter if it takes two attempts or two-hundred attempts. Failure is an option. It is in that truth that we get a little more room to breathe knowing that there is always another chance. There is always tomorrow! You may have to do things differently. You may have to approach it a whole new way. Your strategy may change a million times but the point is to keep pressing forward! There will be days you are sprinting toward the goal and others that you feel like you are struggling to crawl, but that does not matter. Just keep moving. You have this! I believe in you!

Through whom, to whom, and for whom all things exist!

-Ryan

Leave a Reply

