Beginnings: A series of Midrashim through the book of Genesis

IMG_2015-0.PNG

The last couple of weeks I have been working on several Midrashim spanning the book of Genesis that I hope can be recorded in a spoken word type fashion. I thought it would be an interesting approach to explore some of the deeper themes that lie between the lines of the scriptures with this project. For those that are lost, in short, Midrash is the Jewish Rabbinical tool to express the meaning of parts of scripture that exist between the lines of the text, essentially to dig up what is beneath the surface of the words. This was often done through story telling and literary reenactment and is the approach I am taking as well. I hope people will be blessed by this project when it is finished. For now I have the first two almost “finished”. I am rarely ever satisfied but I do hope to at least get this to a place where I feel like it can be enriching an enjoyable! These are the concepts and texts I plan to do so far;

Creation/Adam
(The coming to life and the looking to the age to come.)

Cain/Abel
(Cain founding empire on his brothers blood.)

Abram/Isaac
(Tension between Isaac and his father after the sacrifice incident.)

Sarai/Hagar
(Hagar’s rejection and redemption.)

Jacob/Esau
(Jacob’s struggle with fear.)

Pharaoh/Moses
(The battle between Pharaoh’s fear of Yahweh but his refusal to submit.)

I wanted to give you a rough idea of what to expect so I have put the unfinished Midrash about Cain/Abel below! Hope you enjoy!

***

WHERE IS YOUR BROTHER?

(Those words must have sounded like thunder to Cain and he knew the creator knew the answer and it was like an excellerant to his rage. Those words felt like accusations to the heart of the self condemning son of the proto man.)

“Am I his keeper, Lord? The shepherd of his soul?”

WHAT HAVE YOU DONE? I HEAR THE CONTENTION ROLL OFF YOUR TONGUE IN WAVES OF UNWARRENTED RAGE.

“I spilled the blood of my fathers son. That boy needed to learn to keep better care of his herds. This was my land. The ground I tilled and sowed. This is the dirt where I built my home! My home! He could have had all the fields of the earth but he brought those damn sheep to where he knew they did not belong.
My field.
My land.
My home.

I HEAR HIS BLOOD
CRY OUT FROM THE RED SOAKED EARTH!

“I labored by the sweat of my brow for thorns and thistles; the ground producing what you commanded and you still would not accept it!? So what was I supposed to do? Lord….
The fruit of my labor was not enough… It was blood that you wanted and blood I gave to you. Surely my brothers blood is more acceptable than that of filthy herd animals? Surely lord, surely! his favorable, innocent, sinless blood is more desirable than a goat!

CAIN, YOU WERE ALWAYS ACCEPTED JUST BLIND. I NEVER ONCE COMMAND THAT YOU SHOULD GIVE ME SACRAFICE. I DESIRE MERCY AND NOT BLOOD; JUSTICE AND LOVE, UNITY AND TRANQUILITY, BUT NEVER BLOOD.

(The Creator Wept)

YOU HAVE TO LEAVE THIS PLACE BECAUSE THE GROUND ACHES FOR VENGENCE AND YOU HAVE CHOSEN TO LIVE LIFE AS A FUGITIVE. YOU ARE DESTENINED TO ROAM SON, BUT I WILL PROTECT YOU AND LET NO HARM OVER TAKE YOU!

(Grace only fueled the rage in his heart.)

“You placed this mark on my brow to show me your mercy but it will always be nothing more than a sign that you reject me. My Father traveled east of Eden… Not far enough! I’ll travel farther but I won’t wander!
I won’t God!
I won’t!
I’ll build a city because I don’t need your protection. I’ll build walls of stone and watch brick and morter become a god all on their own.”

Leave a Reply

